Readings

In addition to living a car-free lifestyle I am also very anti-television. At a xc ski race I did in Vermont years ago I saw a bumper sticker on a ski case that said “Turn Off Your TV And Turn On Your Life” and it struck me as a very fine and worthwhile saying so I use it from time to time. Not too often as I am not a huge fan of bumper stickers, either, but from time to time is appropriate, as I said. Instead of watching TV I ride bikes, watch movies of my choosing, work on my house, spend time with Cody, pet cats and read books and comics.

One of my favorite books is 100 Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. If you have not read it, please do and then come back and finish reading this post, the book is much better, I assure you! I only just today read that on March 6th he turned 80! I have been happy to see his name popping up in magazines and newspapers recently and was delighted to see a good old fashioned gossip column about him in the NYT today.

Here he is with a black eye (Photos courtesy of Rodrigo Moya and the NYT) he received at the fist of a Peruvian author in 1976 at the premier of ALIVE, the movie about the plane crashed soccer team that was forced into cannibalism to survive. What a story!

Okay, I also recently finished reading I Love Led Zeppelin (Panty-Dropping Comics) by Ellen Forney and it was also a wonderful book/comic/graphic novel collection filled with advice about how to drag race a car or tip your waiter or smoke pot and stay out of jail or sew a severed finger back on (not a diy section so much as just an explanation) or even how to survive the coming chaos! Her drawing style is fabulous and the story about the girl who had Tom Waits pour her a bourbon made me laugh and laugh and, well, laugh.

In other news, my rest week continues after the brutal 24 mile effort on Sunday so I hit the lovable “B” ride last night and did not do much work, just sat near the back and talked with some folks I have not seen much of lately. Good times…

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    ira ryan said,

    i feel like i learned more in the two comics i read than i have in a long time. thanks dude. the loft looks great especially with the kitty rugs in place. call me back when you get a moment. although i will be riding until noon on thurs. hearts

  2. 2

    Cody G said,

    Something about that photo makes me think of Geraldo.

  3. 3

    friendlybook said,

    !!!i’m reading 100 years right nows!!!about half way through, and you aren’t lying! its great.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

