Book Report!

I finished reading The Yiddish Policeman’s Union.  It is wonderful.  I am a big Michael Chabon fan and had been eagerly anticipating the release of this book.  I had been whipped into a six year old kids xmas eve frenzy of want when Chabon himself came to the U of I and read from the long delayed book last fall.  I am loathe to purchase hardback books because they are soooo expensive (and big, too-we live in a little house) so I put in a hold at our amazing public library.  I was the 19th hold or something and was content to wait it out as another pathetic display of American mental fortitude when Cody came home with a super secret paperback edition she had gotten from a friend with ties to the industry.

Short story made long, the book is amazing.  I won’t give away the secrets as I know a few of my loyal readers are avid Chabon fans and I do not wish to ruin their experience.  I can say the copy we enjoyed was 411 pages and, being an advance copy, contained a few typos and inconsistencies.  Was the tidy feller wearing a penguin sweater or a reindeer sweater?  We are not sure.

The ending agreed with my world view nicely and furthered my strong desire to have a cup of coffee with Michael Chabon someday.  If you have never read Chabon, get with it!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Cody G. said,

    Blast that Chabon! Here I am re-reading Kavalier & Clay… I’ve got other things to do!!

    (Like, um, read Wonder Boys and Mysteries of Pittsburgh.)

  2. 2

    franQ said,

    Hearing all this talk of the new Chabon release makes me a little sad…

    A year ago, I would have been thrilled and no doubt attended his book signing. He’s been my favorite author since I first read his debut novel THE MYSTERIES OF PITTSBURGH back in the early 90s.

    But I can no longer support the work of an author who has no regard for the story and characters that put him on the literary map.

    In case you haven’t heard, there’s a film version of MOP coming out later this year… Written and directed by the guy who brought us DODGEBALL, in which he’s CHANGED 85% of Chabon’s original story.

    And the sad part is… Michael Chabon himself APPROVED of the script! WHY would he do this? I can only think of one possible answer: $$

    If you are a Chabon fan, esp MOP, I suggest you do NOT see this movie. You will be sadly disappointed at the COMPLETE removal of the gay character, Arthur Lecomte, and the fabrication of a romantic love triangle between Art Bechstein, Jane Bellwether, and a bi-sexual Cleveland Arning. And really, what is MOP without the presence of Phlox Lombardi? Alas, she’s barely in it.

    For a copy of the script email: bechstein[at]yahoo[dot]com

  3. 3

    bikeiowa said,

    Well franQ (if that is your REAL name) I take your point regarding the movie and thank you for your research. I love Mysteries of Pittsburgh and Wonder Boys and Kavalier and Clay an am happy to read all that Chabon can write. I am not so interested in his work in motion pictures. I enjoy the Wonder Boys film even with its changes. It does sound like the Mysteries movie will be sad and pathetic. Chabon loves Hollywood and it may be all about the $ but it also may just be about him being a geek. When he was here speaking he talked about some of the Spider Man script stuff and Kavalier and Clay being in the works and Mysteries of Pittsburgh, too and I must say he just seemed really excited about it. From what I see on the cover of People Magazine it looks like a terribly glamorous pot pie and if he likes walking down the red carpet and having people wonder who he is then that is what he likes. I am happy to say I do not go to the movies much anymore and while I may see Mysteries of Pittsburgh if it should be at the Iowa City Public Library I am not going to let my enjoyment of Chabon books be affected.

    Thanks for stopping by!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment