laboritis

Hello again. Things have been happening with alarming frequency around here. Last Friday I got paid, first time in a loooong time. I also got to leave work early so I went out and rode around on gravel roads with friends, it was fun! Saturday I hit the farmers market for the first time in a loooong time with my friend coffee in my new insulated travel mug, it is everything I ever hoped a container could be. Off for a mountain bike ride then, I do not think I have ridden my mountain bike since April. I went out to Sugarbottom and rode a lap, it has changed a lot since I was last there! I cleaned most everything and think I am going to participate in the Sugarbottom Scramble next weekend which will hopefully help get my body ready for Chequamegon which is the weekend after.

After the ride I put the trim up around our restibule window, it went smoothly and as you can plainly not see in this photo it looks swell!

Trust me. Saturday night Cody and I watched The Private Eyes starring Tim Conway and Don Knotts, a beloved movie from our childhoods. Nostalgia Rocks!

Sunday I took a day off the bike as I have been riding lots and lots since returning from Portland. I insulated our porch instead, hopefully it can be made to stay cool in the summer and warm in the winter. We shall see…

I am going to cover it with some nice plywood that has been “curing” beside our shed for about 6 months now. Sunday afternoon I was back in action at the Iowa City Bike Library. Rent a Bench is not yet what I had hoped for but I still have high hopes for some reason. I did teach a college kid who happened in off the street how to change a flat tire, that was cool. And I got 2 bikes ready to check out. Cody and I made some great pizza then with fresh fixings from our garden and watched The Curse of The
Golden Flower
. It was not great…

Today I got up and made pancakes and then went and rode my bike 100.63 miles. This was another of the Cup O Dirt rides, I have 4 now, just 8 to go! It was a great ride today if a bit hot. I hit lots of “B” roads and 4 wheeler trails and snowmobile trails and abandoned roads and the like. Some of them were pretty trashed from flooding and such so I got to practice my cyclocross skills with mosquitos offering critiques of my form and style in the form of bites if I was too slow. I came in with about 85 miles of the 100(.63) on gravel. Good times and goodnight.

Oh yeah, one last thing. Ritchie has kitty larengitis, anyone know what to do about that? Your suggestions are appreciated!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    rub some kitty vap-o-rub on its chest, then brew some kitty-tea. add some cat-honey and a bit of kitty lemon juice, to taste.
    then insist on rest.

  2. 2

    bonkosi said,

    you are greatly missed.
    let’s hang out soon.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

