Feeling Optimistic

Last week I still was not feeling my usual good health and while I did get out for one ride early in the week it was not until Friday that I got back in the swing of me.

Friday night I rode the singlespeed Fuji up to Iguanas with the Eppens and drank half a pitcher of blended margarita before riding back.  On the way in we stopped to meet Gus, a wriggly puppy who lives in North Liberty.  I gots the puppy fever.

Saturday morning was quiet, my old friend Tanya was in town from Minnesota and she stopped by to see the house and meet Cody and it was great to catch up with her.

Around noon John and I went out to Sugarbottom then so we could ride mountain bikes.  It was a great day and it was good to be back out on the Bridgestone.  We hit some of the snowmobile trails north of the park and they were in awesome shape with lots of muck but not too much and none of the rickety bridges collapsed under us.  Stopped for coffee on the way in and I am happy to report that even at 35 the Americano is a smooth customer.

Saturday night Cody and I walked around for awhile and then made some awesome  curry chickpea soup.

Sunday we were up early and out the door to ride to Squire Point for a hike.  It was a beautiful morning and we rode through frosty grass and saw wild Turkey’s running around and some deer, too.  The colors are finally popping around here and it was

beautiful at the lake.  We rode back in and tried out our new HUGE french press, 4 cups of black blood of the earth in one shot, OoO-la-la! Cody proceeded to her usual coffee-maniac artistry while I finally cut up some of our decorative plywood that has been outside for 7 months so I can finish our porch off.  I was off to the Bike Library then for Rent-A-Bench excitement and the place was hopping!  Much advocacy talk and we sold some stuff and helped a drunk guy bend his (steel) crank back to “normal” and fixed up his non-drive crankarm, too. He rode out the door and proceeded to almost hit a parked car.

Watched Hedwig and The Angry Inch last night and put the weekend to bed in clean sheets.  It has been a rough October but I am excited to get back to my exemplary life.

See you around!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    ah the plucky ambition returns with a vengeance to our wise and courageous pickle. good on ya, dude.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

