Cosmic Unconciousness

Repo Man. Emilio Estevez’s finest work and a damn fine movie besides. When I loaded everything I owned into my 1968 VW bus in early winter 1998 and drove off in search of adventure and a new place to live I had a freshly rented copy of Repo Man (on VHS, kiddies) that I had no intention of ever returning in my glove box and a tattered copy of The Monkey Wrench Gang on the dash. Watching the sunset over the Grand Canyon a couple of months later with said vehicle (the Elephant) parked behind me was a realization of a dream I had while in college. Satisfaction was mine!

Repo Man is packed with wisdom!

No one is innocent. -Rogersz

Plus!

I don’t wanna learn to drive. The more you drive, the less intelligent you are. -Miller

And who could forget!

A lot o’ people don’t realize what’s really going on. They view life as a bunch o’ unconnected incidents ‘n things. They don’t realize that there’s this, like, lattice o’ coincidence that lays on top o’ everything. Give you an example; show you what I mean: suppose you’re thinkin’ about a plate o’ shrimp. Suddenly someone’ll say, like, plate, or shrimp, or plate o’ shrimp out of the blue, no explanation. No point in lookin’ for one, either. It’s all part of a cosmic unconciousness. -Miller

92 minutes of carefully crafted dialog yields gem after gem!

Ordinary people spend their lives trying to avoid tense situations. Repo Man spends his life getting into tense situations. -Bud

Chatting with B Loring last week he mentioned the tense situations quote as it applies to activism and fund raising. Brian is a frood what knows where his towel is, damn straight. I have been on a quest to see Iowa City’s bike racks treated like the important part of the transportation system that they are for about a year now. Last winter I contacted the City Council to see if they could help stop the piling of snow on the racks and they directed me to Parks and Rec and we had a few email and phone conversations and it was all very civilized and they told me that most racks downtown are not the City’s responsibility but rather the businesses they are near. Then spring happened, dead issue.

This year I am at it again and in a more timely fashion as we are yet to see a flake of snow. I contacted the Downtown Business Association and after an initial email blow-off and follow up call and follow up email I got the President on the phone and he said they would be glad to help get the word out. We will see what happens but hopefully the issue can be resolved without resorting to a City ordinance. I will be very happy if we can have snow cleared and usable bike racks for all to use all the year through!

Not much of a tense situation, its true but let me give you another example; show you what I mean. Cody is sick and I went to the Library and got a bunch of movies. Hedwig and The Angry Inch, The Lives of Others, and Kitchen Stories overlapped with themes of loneliness, East Germany and sleeping on the back of a horse with a cat skin around your neck to cure sickness. Cosmic! You (yeah, you) should see the Lives of Others if you have not, it is a powerful film and really well done, too.

Did a one hour singlespeed townie after voting this morning. I love townie season! Stopped to get a double cuban macchiato and a guy stole it and they made his and tried to give it to me but it was not cuban and was in a to go cup and I made a face and they finally got me what I ordered and threw in 2 free coffee cards, too! I also got a free espresso drink on account of my perks account! Coffee craziness will ensue! Faces work!

Last thing, this is a monster post, jeesh, but we must now wish our good friend Dave a happy birthday!  Here we are riding to RAGBRAI in the prime of our flowering youths, Dave in classic hi-vis, me with hippy-hair.  Happy Birthday Dave!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    ira ryan said,

    wow, are those both Ralphs? nice!

  2. 2

    actually, ira, i think dave’s is the orange ralph, but steve is probably riding his stealth univega or his bob jackson…memory is fuzzy on which.

    but just the same,happy birthday all you emd-of-the-yearers!

    hey, ira! you were on that trip out, too! remember the photo where dave held you in his hand?

    ahhh, yooot.

  3. 3

    Jay said,

    what makes a macchiato cuban?

  4. 4

    bikeiowa said,

    Illegal immigrants!

    No, seriously, turbinado sugar is brewed with the espresso.

    Sweet…

    For all you coffee enjoyers John and I tried out the new t spoons in the northside neighborhood and found it to be a cozy atmosphere and they sell beer so check it out if you wanna. Nice big reclaimed materials tables, too.

  5. 5

    bikeiowa said,

    Yup, I am not riding a Ralph built Ralph, but a Univega with all decals removed and Ralph decals added. He did not mind the publicity, good and bad that came from me riding it. I still have an extensive collection of Ralph socks (3, 2 with holes) and shirts (3, 1 with holes) that just keep getting more and more valuable as time goes by. No windchime, though…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

