How Much Do YOU Care?

Put yer money where your mouth is!  I read about this in The World Without Us, the ideas are well reasoned and strangely inviting…

I think.

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jen said,

    Personally, I’m all for it.

    Unless I get knocked up, of course.

  2. 2

    d,p. said,

    Sounds a lot like the Heaven’s Gate Cult.

  3. 3

    VHEMT may sound like a suicide cult at first, but it’s an alternative to the mass suicide our over-industrialized world is heading for. As the first statement says, “May we live long and die out.”

    Jen, I hope you don’t get impregnated when you don’t want to be. If your man won’t wear a condom or get a vasectomy, tell him to beat it.

    Besides putting our money where our mouths are, we men can do more than pay lip service to women’s right to choose and put our balls where our mouths are.

  4. 4

    d.p. said,

    Les,

    Yeah? Whatever. Looks almost “find and replace” like plagiarism.
    http://www.wave.net/upg/gate/letter.htm

    You sound all reproductive right-sy but when it comes down to it you are neither.

    Yawn

  5. 5

    bikeiowa said,

    I don’t think it is the same as the cult, but maybe it is.

    [cue creepy voice]

    Brother Dave… Come ride with us…

    [cut creepy voice]

    I like the idea of traffic calming as our population ages and me being able to never again be hassled by a high school driver as I ride my bike because they will no longer exist. I also like the thought that our species would make an attempt to “turn off the lights” before we leave the house. However, having just finished the world without us I realize that this would be an unprecedented and, honestly, impossible task. We have affected the world and some of what we have done will not be undone until the Sun eats this rock. The 441 nuclear power plants are a tremendous problem and their future without humanity does not look good for anyone or anything.

    To sum up, its a good book and well worth reading, says me.

  6. 6

    d,p. said,

    Go ahead. Make light of my feelings. I suppose you’ve never even been spurned by a cult. I mean not cult. My new cause is the, uh, Fraternal Order of Eunuchs, and even if we agree on some points, I am still think women are capable of making their own reproductive choices. And my population control ideas are probably more elitist, far beyond the Bob Barker message.

  7. 7

    d,p. said,

    And, dang I need a grammar editor.

    ps Really enjoying your blog.

  8. 8

    Jen said,

    Les U. Knight, The second part of my comment was a JOKE. But, gee, THANKS for the safe sex
    advice. How would I ever know how to respect myself without some self-righteous male telling me how to do it?

    Steve, Thanks for the book recommendation. Love reading your blog. Sorry for leaving a snippy remark here, but that commenter above really pissed me off.

  9. 9

    Yawn, thanks for the link to Heaven’s Gate. It’s not remotely similar to VHEMT, but I do like the nebulae and might use space graphics for a theme when I redesign the VHEMT site.

    Something you wrote I didn’t understand:
    “You sound all reproductive right-sy but when it comes down to it you are neither.
    Yawn”

    Neither reproductive right-sy nor what else?

    I’m sure we have middle ground we can agree on, Yawn, as you say:
    “even if we agree on some points, I am still think women are capable of making their own reproductive choices.”

    Women are quite capable of making their own reproductive choices if they are allowed the freedom to do so. Hundreds of millions of women are not. Even in regions like North America, men refuse to take responsibility for their fertility and cause unwanted conceptions.

    bikeiowa, you might find the first-hand reports of Elena riding through Chernobyl interesting. http://www.kiddofspeed.com/ I wonder if bicycle tours are allowed. It would be a once-in-a-lifetime tour for a couple of reasons. She rides a big motorcycle and always alone because the radioactive dust gets the second rider. Bicycles wouldn’t stir up dust.

    I agree, with fewer people on the roads, riding bikes would be much nicer. Progress in bike-friendly changes is barely advancing ahead of the increased traffic here in Portland, Oregon.

  10. 10

    Jen, I’m sorry that my comment came across as condescending when it was meant to be humorous. I shouldn’t have used a joke that can only be told by a female. If I had re-read the message before posting I might have realized that. Too late now. All I can do is apologize for making such a stupid mistake and then think about the possibility that your accusation of self-righteousness may have some merit.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

