The Counseler

I finally figured out what I want to do with my life. Sure, I have had ideas and schemes before but now I’ve got it! The realization did not come to me by thunderbolt or drink. I found my way in a quiet moment of reflection on Lunar New Year’s Eve during my personal Year of the Macchiato. Also known as last night.

The way is simple, I just want to do what I did yesterday, again and again. There was the ski to work. The half day at work. The ski downtown to meet Cody and friends for mid-day coffee. A store stop to sock in supplies and then the ski home. A fine enough day to last me forever right there but then came the snowshoeing!

I have long enjoyed snowshoeing but we rarely see enough snow in these parts to warrant it. Now is the time! I set out to traverse Hickory Hill and its surrounding enviorns. The snow was beautiful and I got to cross many untouched fields of snow. Down in the woods I was amazed that the amount of snow had bent trees and shrubs and everything else over so that in some places the trail was totally obstructed and with no tracks to follow it really was not even there. Pushing through the blockades dumped lots of snow on my head and the trees would shoot back up where they belonged once their snow had shaken off. It was pretty cool. I took and hour and a half to get around and my legs were shaking by the end of it, snowshoeing in deep snow is a fine workout!

I had my dinner and cared for the still ailing and very brave Cody and then settled in to read more Wonder Boys. I love the way Chabon writes, check out this passage where he describes Tripp’s attraction to Chancellor Gaskell: She imprisoned her glorious hair within its scaffolding of pins, painted a thin copper line across her lips for makeup, and aside from her wedding ring the only jewelry she generally wore was a pair of half-moon reading glasses tied around her neck with a length of athletic shoestring. Undressing her was an act of recklessness, a kind of vandalism, like releasing a zoo full of animals, or blowing up a dam. It makes me laugh out loud sometimes and wonder, how does he do that?

So there you have it. At some point during my reading I thought back over my day and found it to have been ideal. Now I just have to find someone to pay me to do it until social security kicks in. Hey, how about you?

Sorry for no pictures, I took some yesterday but something is up with my camera to computer interface. Tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

