All Systems Slow

I have been resting. Maybe not full on rest because over the previous weekend I had much to do that kept me on my feet and thus grumpy, but I have not been riding hard. I needed a break from training, now I will do one more stretch of much time and intensity on the bike and then have one more rest before the Kanza. It is always strange being at the tail end of a rest period, I can never help but worry that I just got slow for not riding, but I have been at this long enough to know that it does not work that way. I did get out for many townies and a couple of rides, one on trails on the long neglected Salsa

and one on the cross bike with Cody, who rode her finally up and rolling Austro-Daimler. It was a beautiful morning and we saw so many people out riding, I felt like I was in Boulder or something. We rode down to Highway 22 which is a bit south of

town and had a look at a camping area down there to see if it was still under water. It wasn’t and while we are too busy for the foreseeable future we hope to take a mini tour down there and spend the night sometime. Doesn’t it look nice, right on the bank of the Iowa River?

We had a quick refuel and headed home so I could go to work. Work has been

difficult the last couple of weeks, two jobs is one too many I think and while I can do it for a spell that spell has thankfully almost ended.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Cody G. said,

    Good god, what is this, the Cody Show?

    Sheeeeesh.

  2. 2

    bikeiowa said,

    Dooncha knoow, it’s always the Cody show!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

