Bike to Work Week 2008

For the past few years I have been helping to organize the local Bike to Work Week events.  It has been fun, there is a lot of work and months of meetings but when the events happen it is always a good time to be there and the folks that participate always love it.  Here are a few pictures I took of the breakfasts that kick off the week, Monday at College Green Park and today at Kinnick Stadium.

The events were very well attended both days with 100+ people being served over the 2 hour period, groups would come in and go out while some of us spent almost the whole time there.  It is amazing to think of the space requirements to do a breakfast for automotive commuters, this is such a tiny area to serve so many and the grass does not even get trampled.  Its good living!

Here our local USCF rep shows off his hot Italian fold up bike.

I rode my 1 SPEED FUJI and brought along my own table and chair.  This set up worked well on the way there but on the way back not so much.  I don’t know why.  I took this stuff along to sell Iowa Bike Coalition Raffle tickets.  It was just like the good old days when I used to sell meat raffle tickets (doesn’t that sound enticing!) for the boy scouts so I could go to summer camp.  I had my own handmade sign that was all red white and blue and I would sit at my table in front of Jewel for hours asking folks if they wanted to buy a ticket for a chance to win a side of beef or a turkey.  I digress…

Tomorrow night is the big event, the Mayor’s ride!  Meet at Chauncy Swan Park (across from city hall) starting at 5:15, we will roll to the Coralville New Pi at around 5:45.  Free bike lights to the first 150 people, free food at the Coop.  Always a good ride and the weather looks great so I do hope to see you there.

Leave a Reply

