I Believe Kansas Is The Sunflower State

Its been awhile, thanks for your patience.  I don’t have much to report that has been going on.

A stool I sat on is featured in the article on framebuilders in the July issue of Bicycling magazine.  It is in Ira’s shop.  He is in the picture, too, the article is about him and his kind.  When I was a young shaved-legger I wanted to try and get on the cover with some sort of mocked up ironic shot of me getting dropped from a group ride.  I never took the time so this may be as close as I ever get.

I have a job again.  I started working at Geoff’s Local Motion Bike & Ski.  This is the last chance shop for me in this town, if it doesn’t work out I am going to have to move.

Dirty Kanza is this Saturday.  I am ready, my bike is probably ready.  It looks like this:

Here is the other side:

Things of note.  Basically the same bike as always.  Race wheels, new tires.  That pump strap went undefeated in long distance gravel road races last year, claiming the coveted first pump strap across the line title at both the trans iowa and the kanza.  The rear derailleur cable is brand new and appears sound.  Brian and I are taking off tomorrow.  The weather is forecast to be a tad too hot for my liking down there in Kansas but what can you do?

Our cold frame is working, spinach and lettuce are up and we even got a salad out of them tender baby greens the other night.

There you have it, I am looking forward to the weekend and also looking forward to it being over!

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    d.p. said,

    Congrats on the new gig. Most comfortable couch-in-a-bike-shop in town. Keep that dirty little pump strap away from my seat pack – under-feated last place SS 2 yrs running.

  2. 2

    ira ryan said,

    GET EM TIGER!!!! good luck and remember to never share your water with your competition no matter how thirsty they look.

    ira!

  3. 3

    Jeff Barnes said,

    Good luck Steve, looking forward to hearing how it goes, I’m rooting for you.

  4. 4

    Gritty said,

    The King of Kansas- best of luck this weekend!

  5. 5

    Jim said,

    So, when are you moving?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

