Fringe Benefits, Part 4

Lots of chatter and internetergy being expended regarding trans Iowa, which will turn five years old next spring.  I am very happy to have done it once, and glad for everything I took away from the experience.  Like the pledge that I will not do it again.  Or the tyvek sleeve that has been protecting my atm card since that fateful day .

After the really cold morning meeting we went to eat breakfast at a local Hawarden restaurant and on the way I stopped for money at a bank and next to their money machine there was a pile of these sleeves.  I had been wanting one for some time as all my cards would wear out before their expiration date would come around but I could never seem to find one.  Indeed, I think that is the last place I saw them.  I am sure that the sleeve is far and away the thing I got from trans Iowa that I have used the most, and as such I am glad I did that ride if just to get it.

In other fringe benefitery, we have been working over at JMC’s house for the past couple of weeks and before he flew to Denmark to get attacked by a dog he gave me a very nice insulated Discovery Channel jacket with jersey style back pockets.

Might just get me back out riding someday soon.  Now let me tell you about something else really cool I got for finishing that ol’ trans Iowa.  Its called a Jethro Tule and it is a stubby lil’ 15mm wrench for a bolt on rear wheel but here is the fringe benefit kicker, it’s got a totally freaking ergonomic and stylish anti-establishment bottle opener built right into it!  I could go on and on about all the beers I have never once opened with it, but I won’t.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    DG said,

    Man, maybe I’ll find a coin keeper or win a beer coozie or something.

    DG


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

