Free Coffee!

I recently heard about some bike racer that won a lot of races.  Like hundreds.  I don’t remember even who it was, Not Merckx but it does not much matter, and while rare there are still plenty of them fast Bozos out there.  It got me to thinking about how many bike races I might have won.

I might have won more than I ever did, that is for sure!  I got the final stage of a three stage race to take the overall as a bonus when I was a cat 4.  That was a good one.  I was the Iowa cat 4 RR champ in 92 or something like that.  I got beat by a Minnesotan but he did not count!  I won a Pie Race up in Ely one year that I rode to and from for good measure.  I won the 30+ state cross race, but that was as part of the 1/2’s field.  I won a crit in Arizona once by attacking at the bell just as the break was caught and holding it to the finish, that was a great feeling to pull that move off.  I finished the Dirty Kanza first once, that counts as a win I suppose.  I have been a category champ many times in other races.   I suspect (hope?) I am missing a couple of other fine results but these that I remember show that at least I have managed to win a few races over the years.

Now that I am old and slow and have only been out for 3 rides this year I am taking comfort in other challenges.  Like reading.  Our amazing Iowa City Public Library has an Adult Winter Reading Club.  Read 2 books and you win a free cup of coffee from the local fresh roasting coffee house, Capanna.  I did it!  First I plowed through Even Cowgirls Get the Blues, which was entertaining and catchy with rambling philosophical passages and wholesome cowgirl sex scenes.  I liked the book and am now happy to quote it on occasion.  I had planned to enjoy a Vonnegut work next, Timequake, but I digressed when I saw the Yiddish Policeman’s Union on the Library’s staff favorites shelf.  I had read this book once before but as I promised myself while long suffering through Infinite Jest as I had been for the previous 8 months (I’m almost done!  AGAIN!  Yipee!) that I would read some happy fiction after it was all over I took that book home and made it my own for the club.  What a read.  If I were forced to pick a favorite contemporary writer, Chabon would probably be my choice.  I enjoyed reading the Yiddish, nu, and wanted to hear the book aloud so I put a hold on the audiobook.  Tomorrow we head to Minneapolis to attend Frostbike and geek out on the shiny bike bits for the weekend and while the audiobook hold is not in so we will not have Meyerle or Berko to keep us company we will surely have coffee, and lots of it.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    tarik said,

    Ack, again with the infinite jest. Why do people subject themselves to it. Feh, ptoui. Lots of footnotes in a technical work: necessary. Lots of footnotes in a short fiction piece: clever, (maybe…) Four million footnotes in an already pointless book: fuck.

  2. 2

    ira ryan said,

    er…..ah……maybe all these years of bike racing has made me stupid but i am re-reading the alchemist and it is again a solid point of reference for the world. sorry to bombard you with texts about some silly iowan kickin ass in california but i was just so pumped. have fun at frostbike and don’t blow all your money on too many shiny bike bits. see you in a couple weeks. hehehehe.

  3. 3

    Kari said,

    I still have that medal somewhere!

  4. 4

    Gretcho said,

    bikes, coffee, books, and witty jibber jabber… i love getting out of my baby chatter world to visit your neck of farmland. tally ho!

  5. 5

    bikeiowa said,

    Okay, getting back in the blog swing after the hasty just home post of Sunday night, thanks for waiting.

    Always a hooray to hear from you Gretcho, keep that baby honest ya hear!

    Kari, I have long wondered (really) what might have ever happened to that medal, I thought the Boogie-man had it but I am happy to hear it is in a box somewhere in Ohio. Keep them future archeologists guessing!

    Ira, get here already.

    Tarik, you can’t understand until you finish that book. Go on, finish it!

  6. 6

    the mostly reverend said,

    hey, i’ve got BOXES of medals.
    just tell me what color you want, and i’ll send it to you.
    and if you act in the next ten minutes, i’ll throw in a bmx trophy.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

