Schmuck of the Week!

A new feature here at SOOT, this Best of Show winning schmuck was quoted in my latest e-newsletter from the NAHBS as such:

Polito, who sees making one’s own bicycle as the mark of a true cyclist

schmuck-polito

Great, so there you have it.  All of us who have never made our own bikes are not true cyclists.  Could the pretension of this show get any more thick?  We’ll have to wait until next year to find out!

I spent a pretty good weekend being a false cyclist.  Not only did I move 9 gallons of paint by cargo bike, but I went for two good gravel rides with friends in addition to my regular riding to and from the places I needed to go.

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    d.p. said,

    Bet he aint gonna ride that trophy home on that bike.

    d’Pistard

  2. 2

    Jim said,

    Nice job, but what is all of the paint for?

  3. 3

    maybe you could start your own bike show and have the awards be based on actual practical applications of what you use a bike for or how well you can trackstand while wearing a white leather belt or like the old kung fu show, you could lift up a heavy pot with hot coals in it with your forearms leaving a brand that could signify your true devotion to the bicycle.

    or maybe just have an espresso and look at all the pretty pictures on the internets.

  4. 4

    DG said,

    Whew! I’m still a cyclist! Flying lawn chairs count, right?

  5. 5

    bikeiowa said,

    d.p. – You the man, I wanna do one of your lunchtime rides with you!

    Jim – The paint was work related, a return and a pickup. d.p. can verify.

    Ira – What are you talking about? Less coffee Ira. Less coffee.

    The pics from the show were good, for sure, but as I look at double hung singlespeeds with wooden seatposts and rims and cable actuated disc brakes I find myself shaking my head and asking aloud, just because you can do it, should you? Cody can verify. That said, there was some good looking stuff there and I would have enjoyed going over to see it all. I bet everybody was bummed Lance was not there with his checkbook, eh?

    DG – Keep on keeping it true, you true cyclist you!

  6. 6

    the mostly reverend said,

    no time to build bike; currently building house & car; barely time to read. fewer words, gpick.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

