The Group Thing

Since daylight saving time has been expanded considerable by the grill and candy industries,  so too has the Tues/Thurs group ride season.  I missed the first of the year on Tuesday as I had to go poo (my blog is nothing if not open and honest) and the weather outside was not very inviting.  Yesterday was different.

stp81870Ira sat me down with a sucksessory poster and gave me just the pep talk I needed to “strap it on” and “mount up” and “freeze to death while sitting in” so that is what I did.  There was a decent group at the park, about 12 I think.  We headed North to the Pepsi Challenge Proving Hill and I took a pull on the way out of town, for show ya know?  I am slow.  Once we got onto Sugarbottom Road I got suckered into taking another pull, uphill and with a freaking cat 2 who has already raced this year.  Jeesh.  And, I was on my cross bike and and.. and… he was on his carbon racey road bike with – with these white tires and it was just reeeeaaaaly unfair.  Hurrumph I say, with my arms crossed defiantly!

So with my legs burning and my eyes teared up (from the wind, I did not cry until I got home – okay?) and my cross tires humming I went to the back and stayed there.  I made it over the PCPH with the leaders and hung on basically all the way into town.  I veered off from the safety of the numbers and cruised over to Dubuque Street to come home.  I ran into another group ride, a more relaxed and gentle crew and a pretty good sized group, nice to see so many folks out riding on a cold night.

And just as I wrap up for the day, the sun breaks through and we are headed for a high of 45, more group rides ahead.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Alf Goulett said,

  2. 2

    bikeiowa said,

    Yep, that is probably what it looked like alright, except one bike had white tires and our paceline was a bit tighter.

  3. 3

    Ari said,

    Steve,
    Yo da man! You should have kept going and taken the Cat 2 on an 80 mile ride. They usually fizzle out at mile 40.
    Ari

  4. 4

    bikeiowa said,

    Shhhhhh Ari, he’ll hear you!

  5. 5

    ari said,

    sorry,
    make it a hundred.
    ari


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

