In The Mail

The biggest thing I have going on in my life right now is opening a bike shop, it is true.  If you have not heard yet, because you did not read the previous post I guess, Cody and I are opening a small bike shop here in Iowa City called 30th Century Bicycle.  We should be up and at em in April.  As we whoop the shop into shape, I hope to continue to whoop myself into shape, too.  It has been a slow spring due to the rigors of small business planning as far as my training has gone.

storefront

I have made it out for some rides now, and while yes I am slower than I like to be I have been heartened at times that my 16 days of skiing and my general active lifestyle may have kept me in some sort of decent form to build on.  I had a six day ride streak going up until Wednesday, including group rides on the weekend (one 3 hours long!) and the Tuesday group ride, too, but then I got sick so that had to stop.  I am feeling better this morning after an 11 hour sleep and reading the live Milano-San Remo coverage has me chomping at the GU to get out and ride again.  Plus Ira has shipped me my bike and I want to do it justice once it is built up.

So it will continue, balancing shop life and my life.  It was nice reading along in my pj’s while the Euros thrashed each other and I think it is swell that Cavendish took the win in his first MSR, but now I must get back to work.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Biker said,

    Congrats on the new shop! Keep us all posted!

  2. 2

    ari said,

    Steve,
    I can’t wait to see your bike built. Let me know if you need any parts. I will be glad to ship out. Also I am excited to see your shop open. I will make an effort to visit this summer.
    best to both of you,

    Ari

  3. 3

    bikeiowa said,

    I should be good to build the IRC right up Ari, just gonna let it have it with all the stuff off my road bike for starters, except brakes and headset and stem and saddle pillar and cables and housing and Surly brake hanger and a new rear wheel and cassette and chain and

    Crap.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

