Remember?

dugans007I have not been spending much time over here at my personal blog lately.  Sorry.  Most of my effort has been on the shop opening so I have not had much to report on me.  I have been digging through my piles of bike stuff trying to find the stuff that should be in a bike shop.  Stuff I forgot I had.  It is fun.  I ran across this Dugan’s matchbook, anybody else out there have fond memories of that bar?

In vaguely related news, my favorite Iowa band ever is coming to town on June 26th!  They stopped touring years ago and I thought I would never see them again, but they have been again been playing shows here and there.  The last time they were here I missed it because I had made a commitment to ride 100 miles in the snow the next day and I thought rock and or roll would hurt my chances of success.  So I must keep the calender clear, dust off the combat boots, grow my hair out, get some cutoff overalls, find a Dead Bikemen t-shirt and party like it’s 1991.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Gritty said,

    I was at the HOLS show the last time they were in town. I don’t think I walked 100 steps the next day. Congrats on the shop and I hope to make it down soon.

  2. 2

    Dave B said,

    Dugan’s Deli, Terminator 2 pinball, beer, a big jar of pickles on the counter, a mural on the wall in the back parking lot. HOLS playing shows in town now and then. November birthday parties. Training rides to Slater and Boone and mtn bike rides at the Y-trails. That all seems to have been a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away, but I still have my old boots as proof that most of it probably happened.

  3. 3

    i rode by the old location just yesterday with the grandkids. such fond memories of the place include the 4 for a buck photo booth, and that i could bring dixie, the old greyhound, inside without any hassles. lots of great beers, good food, crazy peoples, and oh, the many wonderful sexcapades that took place inside and outside.

  4. 4

    Kari said,

    HOLS! I haven’t seen them in so long. And I was just talking about Doogan’s last week with a friend in Iowa.

  5. 5

    In NJ said,

    Speaking of Dugan’s Deli (a blast from the past)…does anyone remember what was on a Big Mother sandwich?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

