Bike Races And Other Natural Disasters

The other night a mighty wind did start to blow.  Our biggest Black Walnut tree could not take it and with a crack a snap and a pop it tumbled over.  Amazingly, it missed our recently expanded shed, and our house, and our neighbors power line.

STP82397

It is still hung up there.

STP82394

Not like we needed anything else to do this year, now we get to clean up our yard with a rake and a borrowed electric chainsaw.  (Insert audio file of revving chainsaw here)

I raced my bike today, in Williamsburg, IA.  I was calling it the Johnny Barnes Classic powered by Nordy’s Coffee.  We were going to ride a loop, but a bridge was out so the race became an out and back.  I rode to the race, we raced back the way I had come and then back to Williamsburg, again.  It was a beautiful morning.  Williamsburg is further away than I thought so I made it 5 minutes before go time, but I was already warmed up so that was a bonus.

It was a small race, a pie race if you will, and there were 14 contestants.  I played it cool on the way out, attacked once, covered some moves, enjoyed racing again.  After the turnaround it was kind of head-windy.  I tried to bust things up, as did some other folks, but it was nothing doing.  I had maybe a slight advantage as I had already ridden the finish even though I did not really pay attention to it.  My teammate Chad asked if I wanted a leadout, I demured, not sure of a proper plan as I was not sure of the lead in to the finish or, even, the finish location.

Riding near the back of the line, approaching a small riser, it occured to me that the mailbox I could just make out over the top of the hill looked an awful lot like the official’s (Mark’s) head.  So I drilled it.  Gave it everything I had, from a bad position and in a bad gear.  I did manage to catch the group off guard, as apparently no other racers were concerned with local postal regulations as they pertain to head shaped mailboxes, and as I crested the hill I could see that it was indeed Mark’s head and not a mailbox.  So the finish.  I got blown away quickly enough, durned fast twitch racer types, but I stuck it out for fifth.  I won a six pack of Millstream.  Nice to be racing again,  I think that was my first one since the great State cross debacle of aught-eight and it will likely be my last for a while.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    doug bottorff said,

    Steve,

    Nice work on the race. I spied a decent looking trek mountain bike on the curb at the corner of bloomington and rider street this morning. I think your capable bike shop would be able to get this one up am moving again. Act fast!

    Doug


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

