Jingle Cross ’09 Strategems!

Lately, as I ride around looking Yehuda, I find my mind wandering from the usual internal banter of: bike lanes or sharrows(?); and County Supervisor meetings or sledgehammers and dyno-mite(!) to musings of the peace and serenity that can only be found when the gun is fired and the cyclocross race has started.

This weekend my cross season will open, just like Bart Wellens!  Unlike the aggro Belgian multiple time world cx champ, my season will also end this weekend.  I am signed up for 3 races on the Official Website!  Tomorrow night, at Twilight, but not under a New Moon (blog readership suffering, trying to attract new demographic, lost pre-teen Googlers) I will race the 35+ race.

Saturday and Sunday I will be out for the single speed category.  Racing the single has had me switching cogs and chainrings and pedals, removing racks and fenders, switching bikes, switching cogs again, and generally messing with my bikes more than I have been riding them.  It keeps raining, you see, and the course is saturated, slippery, and slow.

The Fuji, which saw to my speed and safety so trustily last fall at the State CX Championship until the last lap of the second race I did, is sporting a 39×18 and a Mafac “Racer” rear brake, which is super cool, but that gear seems steeper than me lil’ legs can turn in a field that the Bush administration might would have qualified as a wetland, so after all the rigamaroll it seems that maybe the Bridgestone, destroyer of the Bridgescissor but afearer of the Bridgepaper, will get the call once more.  It is chillaxin’ in the shed right now next to the constantly evolving touring townie, now with wood fenders!  The development continues, stay tuned, they will be available soon.

So the Bridgestone is geared smooth and supple at 32×17 and sports a totally bitchin’ (for any pre-teens that are still reading, is that even a cool word anymore?) 26×1.5 Conti rear knobby tire.  Probably not very fast, but fun as fun-Fun-FUN, and that is what it is all about, right?  So, tomorrow I will probably just race the LeMond with gears, the rest of the weekend either the single mountain bike or the single Fuji townie.  Maybe both.  And just how good do them locally made and fully shaped wood fenders look, eh?   A set will turn up on the Ira for sure.  Oh yes, it is still being worked on.  It has wheels now, I built the rear one all by myself except I had instruction.  My first wheel, I am not afraid to admit it.  It looks great!  Just need a shiny saddlepillar, stem and handlebar plus the aforementioned provacative bar tape and we are ready to roll.

So lots of action going on, lots of action to come, full race recap next week, if you are around come on down to the races to do them or watch them.  Enter any or all of the beginner women’s races and you could win a new MASI CXR frameset courtesy of us at 30th Century Bicycle, your friendly neighborhood bike commuting and touring shop where, if you did not know, Otis the shop cat now lives.  Look how cute he is!

Leave a Reply

