Jingle Cross: I RUN Out Of Energy

Well, 2 days of wacky cross racing excitement are behind me.  Friday I did the 35+ race.  My first cross race in over a year!  It showed.  I had a great warm up, changed bikes and changed back within 25 minutes of the start, stopped to talk to some people, got some pictures taken, talked some more, ho hum – ho hum, over to the start, whoops, everyone is staged.  So my decent start position became crap.  They said go, we went, I was at the back, it was really muddy.  I don’t really know what happened during the race, I kept my derailler attached to my bike, rode the big switchback off-camber downhill thing every lap but the one where my derailler tried to get ripped off, in my struggle to avoid that I biffed it.  Pulled out some crud, got the chain going again and off I went.  There were many, many, many deraillers that were eaten.  Maybe us midwest crossers don’t have enough experience with the wet and sticky to bring pit bikes and people to wash them?  I dunno.  So I rode around, got tired, got recovered, really loooong run up took it’s consistent toll, I rode some sections really well, others not so good.  As I was standing around after and watching the start of the 2/3 field I was really glad I was not in it as people were summersaulting down the big off camber steep switchback part, laying waste to snowfence and fellow racer with muddy zest!

I was sporting the latest in 30th Century Bicycle race wear, my one of a kind 30Cent cycling cap, of course, but also now the Rapha jersey with 30Cent logos aplenty silkscreened by Cody!

Pretty cool!

So yesterday’s race was singlespeed and I am so in the loop I got a late night text message Friday night from he who would go on to win it where he let me in on what gear to run.  So I did it.  I would tell you, but you are clearly not in the loop if you are reading this so you probably don’t need to know.  Anyways, before we launch into more hyperbole of barriers lept and corners skittered allow me first to present you with the photo of the 30Cent Racing Team Car Bike, which carried not just me but also the race and pit bike out to the venue.

A finer way to travel I can not imagine.  So yesterday it was all SS all the time.  I got another good warm up, made it to the staging area to be on the front row.  Whoop!  Off we went,  I had a decent start, then we had to run really far, back on the bike for a quick super muddy 100 yard section, then back off for the big steep muddy run/walk up.  I think I blew up the first time up.  Maybe it was the second…  Anyways, I rode well, the Race Townie was performing like a champ!  I traded back and forth with a couple of people, some lost me, I caught some other people, the run up killed me, one lap I think I walked the whole thing.  Last lap I kept my legs moving and ran all the way up that sucker!  It was a really fun day of racing, other than the lots of running I really enjoyed the course, all the twists and turns through the fairgrounds barns are pretty cool and the Pinwheel of Doom or whatever it is called has been entertaining, too.  One more race today and then I don’t have to go back to the shop to work so I can hang out and enjoy the rest of the action.  As always, hope to see you out there!

Bonus photo sets from Mauro are HERE, there are even a couple of shots of me in there.

Leave a Reply

