Fer Serious

Today, I rode the trainer.  It has been a while.  I don’t like riding the trainer.  Not many people do, I suppose, but I have been good at avoiding it over the many years of my lycra clad cycling days.  I am not sure how the year ahead will shape up for me, will I be motivated to do any racing?  Will the Shop be so busy I can not take any time at all for training?  Will I decide to buy a bike from Target and ride it, straight off the shelf, in the Dirty Kanza 200, just to see if it could make it?  I just might…

Who knows.  So today, with the snow destroyed and the skis sitting on their rack, I hope for a good season of strong riding from me, and I rode the trainer.  I got it as a gift in the early 90’s, I think, from my folks.  It is from Performance, and has some magnetic resistance thing that is pretty chunky unless you keep it spinning.  And if I spin it up?  LOUD.  Sounds like it is going to rupture or something.  Long ago I read some book or another and it gave me one specific workout for trainers and I still use it.  It takes 1 hour 20 minutes if I do the whole thing.  I did the whole thing.  I watched the Cannonball Run again.  It was all okay.

I am not going to become some regular basement dwelling, stationary group riding, fan in the winter using, driven to success to the point of turning off the lights to work on mental toughness kind of trainer rider.  No.  I will ride the trainer once a week, at most, for an undetermined period of time, do my token workout, and watch bad movies.  I hope the ICPL has Ace Ventura: Pet Detective for me next week!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    d.p. said,

    We’re here to win, ain’t we? If you’re gonna be a bear, BE A GRIZZLY!
    http://ow.ly/ZaRU

  2. 2

    bikeiowa said,

    If I had something like that I would ride the trainer more. Fer serious.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

