Kent Park Ptooey

The 30¢ Race Squad of me was in action today at the Kent Park Classic!  I was one of two brave riders who registered for the always competitive 30+ category, which started with the 40+.  I was disappointed that we started after the category 4 field, and further disappointed that the gap between category starts was big this year.  Disappointment at Kent Park is pretty silly, though, and I quickly got over it.  If I wanted to start up front so badly I could have just raced my category rather than my age.

Photos Nick Martin

They said go, and we went.  The prospect of leapfrogging to the front of the race looked bleak.  I was frisky on the first lap, pulled a bit, and was very curious as to why we were not drilling it to catch the cat 4 field.  Near the end of our first lap Deuthman attacked while I was hanging back a bit and he got away.  I was mildly bummed, so I thought things over until the next hill and attacked to chase him down.  I caught him, we caught the 4’s, and that was about it for excitement.

Nick Martin again

Nick photo again

Greg and I rode on the front a fair bit, trying to be sure no one from our category would sneak up on us.  I checked ahead from time to time and saw no sign of the 3’s field up there.  We picked up lots of dropped and lapped riders.  I felt like I was riding very comfortably.  As we started our last lap I decided to give one more good effort so I pulled for a loooong time.  Coming into the finish the 4’s were doing the stuff to sort their race out so I hung back so as not to be a bother and rolled in 33rd overall, 1st outta 2 in the 30+ field, 2nd out of 15 in the 30/40+ combined field.

This photo from T Pierce

It was a fun day.  Eight of us met at College Green Park before and rode out to the race, which took about 45 minutes.   It was really cool to race the Ira Ryan with wood fenders.  I won a gift certificate to my old place of employment, ATLAS, as well as a 6 pack of homebrew.  30th Century gave a $25 gift certificate as a prize.  The ride in was less fun than the ride out, with a 6 pack in my backpack and tired legs to boot, but I am glad I did it.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] g. steve pickle has been racing his ira ryan bike a lot this season with fine success. he won the kent park classic and will be going strong in this year’s dirty kanza in a month or so. i would like to say i […]

  2. 2

    […] g. steve pickle has been racing his ira ryan bike a lot this season with fine success. he won the kent park classic and will be going strong in this year’s dirty kanza in a month or so. i would like to say i […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

