Happy Next Year!

It all happens so fast, doesn’t it?  Last thing I knew I was happily resting, reading many books (Lost Cyclist, Freedom, Freddie and Me, others), going to a movie (True Grit), and watching the entire Star Trek TNG series (in order) and now I find myself tired after 7 days in a row on the bike.  So I am resting a bit today and thinking about the rides and races ahead.  And web-loggin’, lucky you!

I have been getting quality hours on the MASI SSCX.  It rocks, by the way.  The Shop has been closed for a couple of weeks to allow us to do this kind of thing and as such I even had time for a long one, 5 hours worth, and I think I got about 18 hours total for the week, so not too shabby!

The long ride was nothing special, just base mileage and icy B roads, but there was this one water crossing that I had to gather big rocks and throw them in to make steps to wobble across, yes my feet stayed dry and it was pretty awesome.

This is my Almanzo postcard.  I finally got to do this last year and had such a good time I am planning on going back for more.  They added a 162 mile option and that is what I will do.  That will be great prep for Dirty Kanza, which is just a couple (er?) few weeks later.  If I do Kanza.  I might jump at the Lumberjack 100 instead.  Kent Park, Sylvan Island Stampede, Ol Cap Crit, Scramble, Chequamegon (I hope I hope), any other suggestions that might come my way.  Your advice always appreciated!

Of course all this riding and planned racing is just to prepare me for Next Year, where my real goals always lie.  You may have heard of some riders that started training for 2011 in late 2010?  Well I am already training for 2012, so they might want to reevaluate their commitment.  Just sayin’…

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    tarik said,

    I take your 2012 training plan and raise you some.I am currently turning the pedals for base miles for the ought-thirteen racing campaign. It will be epic.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

