Good Effort

Just finished up another 2 weeks of “on” or what passes for that in my life nowadays. Mostly pretty standard stuff, got to do some group rides, did some solo rides and a couple of easy rides. But I also did back to back long rides this weekend on my Salsa 29’er, singlespeed style, fully loaded for bike camping.

B Ride Cheesehouse by gpickle at Garmin Connect – Details.

My first group ride of the year was quite spirited, and is one of the longer loops we ever do. I was happy with how it went.

Edens Loop B Ride by gpickle at Garmin Connect – Details.

Second group ride, not quite as spirited, classic Edens Loop, also happy with how it went.

Sugar for breakfast by gpickle at Garmin Connect – Details.

Saturday morning I got out early again for another mountain bike ride. Rode a bit more of the trails than the last time out, and felt a bit better after, too.

Sunday Frytown by gpickle at Garmin Connect – Details.

Met a small group for a ride on Sunday, the basic Frytown loop, at a basic pace. Feeling pretty good at this point.

B ride Cheesehouse by gpickle at Garmin Connect – Details.

Tuesday night another group ride. I was a bit more annoyed with some riders this night, people were rotating the wrong way, guttering the ride while looking over their shoulder for help, playing cat and mouse 2 miles away from a sprint. I won the “classic” sprint finish of the ride and then sat up before the hilly denoument, enough was enough!

For the weekend, which I got off work, and to finish up my 2 weeks “on” I took a down and back tour to Burlington to watch Snake Alley.

Loaded Salsa SS to Burlington by gpickle at Garmin Connect – Details.

I rode my 29’er, single speed 32×16, loaded. I bought Revelate bags for the saddle and top tube, and a sling to carry a tent on the handlebars. It is pretty cool stuff, and I am very impressed with the weight of it, and how it rides. If I were going to take an overnight bike trip to a friends house I don’t think I would need anything other than the seat bag. I also had a big hydration pack on that was stuffed with the tubes and tools and sandals and toothbrush and what nots.

I was awakened early by screeching owls and thought what the hell and got up and was rolling at 4:30 in the morning. It was a nice ride down. I know the way to Columbus Jct just fine, took the Gritty Brevet course for a while. From there down I used googlemaps.com bike there directions, which kept it mostly gravel. There were a couple of trouble spots, but mostly it went smoothly and I got to ride some cool roads every once in a while. I had thought to try and get a century in, but I wanted to watch some Snake Alley so when Burlington was close I just went in to see the action.

Loaded Salsa SS home by gpickle at Garmin Connect – Details.

I stayed the night in Burlington and left early again Sunday morning to ride home. It was hot, 80 at 7 in the morning as I rolled out of town. There was a good south wind for me, with a bit of west to it. So mostly I had tailwind except for when jogging west. It was a tour of convenience stores as I was not in a hurry and had time to stop at every one I passed for gatorade and ice cream sandwiches. Past Riverside I turned west for 10 miles on the Gritty Brevet course to see if I could come up with 100 for the day. As I was laboring out into the wind I considered that I don’t much enjoy riding 29’ers on gravel, just because they are slow. And I don’t recommend loaded single speed touring. But here I was doing both! It all worked out okay, once I turned for home I basically had 20 miles of tailwind. I thought I might not quite get the 100, but it clicked over just a few blocks from my house. Whew! Rode out for a burrito later, so I padded it nicely. I took a bunch of pictures, will try and get them on here soon – much more interesting than the words. I did find a tool, and saw a possum, and a raccoon, and a deer or 3, and a turkey, and a wild cat, and some dogs, and a bunch of run over snakes, and got pestered by lots of red wing blackbirds.

So that is what I have been up to, rest week time for me! 2 more weeks of on, then another week off, and then – dun-Dun-DUN – the Chequamegon 100!

Leave a Reply

